On January 22nd , Alberta Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics presented the Polar Plunge Edmonton. 245 plungers braved the frigid waters of Lake Summerside while hundreds of spectators cheered them to plunge into icy glory. This year Polar Plunge Edmonton raised over $77,000 for Special Olympics Alberta which includes donations and sponsorships for the event. Thank you to our wonderful sponsors: William Huff Advertising, Bavaria BMW, Northwest Scuba, Lake Summerside, Brookfield Residential Edmonton, Sawmill Prime Rib & Steak House, Fat Franks. This exciting day had incredible plungers: Rick Mercer, Jamie Salé, CTV Edmonton‘s Rob Williams, 840 CFCW Sean Burke, CBC Edmonton‘s Mark Connolly, MLA Tany Yao, Alberta Sheriffs‘s Chief Lee Newton, Edmonton Police Service‘s Deputy Chief Brian Simpson, Royal Canadian Mounted Police in Alberta Asst. Commissioner Marlin Degrand. Check out this year’s Plunge on the Rick Mercer Report https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMwX6blnYFw&feature=youtu.be.

Congratulations to our top Fundraisers:

Top Individual and Athlete fundraiser – Justin Sitler

Top Law Enforcement fundraiser – Steve Schmidt, Strathcona County

Top Law Enforcement Team fundraisers – Chief Sheriff Lee Newton & The Sheepdogs

Top Corporate Team fundraiser – Hoping for Sunshine

Top University Team fundraisers – UofA Rehabilitation Medicine Student Association

A HUGE THANK  YOU to all those that braved the cold and raised funds for our Athletes!

Image may contain: 3 people, outdoor

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *